



Report on the activities of the Evaluation Commission

for the attribution of participation grants to the

X AIGeo Italian Young Geomorphologists Day, 3rd IAG International Young Geomorphologists' Meeting, and IAG Southern Europe Webinar

Venice (Italy), 1-2 March 2024

The selection of candidates was performed by a Commission appointed by the AIGeo Directive Council and formed by three members of the Council itself, namely Prof. Laura Melelli (University of Perugia), Prof. Marta Pappalardo (University of Pisa) and Prof. Edoardo Rotigliano (University of Palermo).

According to the call, the following grants were offered:

Grant scheme A: 2 grants of 300€ each for Italian Young Geomorphologists (not older than 35 years and AIGeo members).

Grant scheme B: 3 grants of 350€ each to NON-Italian Young geomorphologists* (not older than 35 years).

Applications considered were correctly submitted by 15th January 2024 to <u>infosegreteria@aigeo.it</u> and <u>laura.melelli@unipg.it</u>.

The Commission evaluated the documentation presented by the candidates that, as requested in the application announcement, was represented by:

- The application form (Attachment 1)
- The abstract submitted to the event
- Short CV (max 2 pages) including a list of up to 10 publications.

As specified in the call, priority was given to:

Grant scheme A

- Young Geomorphologists without a permanent position
- Young Geomorphologists who were not awarded with an AIGeo grant in the past 2 years
- Young Geomorphologists involved in AIGeo activities (Italian Young Geomorphologists' group, participation to assemblies, conferences and working groups).



-



Grant scheme B

- Young Geomorphologists without a permanent position
- Young Geomorphologists involved in IAG activities (e.g., participation to conferences, working groups).

The selection of the winners was performed assigning a score to the titles presented within each of three categories according to the criterion summarized in the following table:

Grant scheme A

Title	Criterion
Age of the candidate	Younger candidates were assigned a higher
	score
Academic position	Candidates without a permanent position got the highest score; for all others, a score inversely proportional to academic level was assigned
Involvement in AIGeo activities	Activities carried out within AIGeo events got proportionally higher score according to the degree of direct involvement of the candidate (e.g. presentations at meeting were evaluated as more relevant than participation to working groups)
Number and quality of publications	The publications presented were evaluated based on their number, normalized relative to the applicant's academic position, and the journal ranking

Grant scheme B

Title	Criterion
Age of the candidate	Younger candidates were assigned a higher
	score
Academic position	Candidates without a permanent position got the highest score; for all others, a score inversely proportional to academic level was assigned
Involvement in IAG activities	Activities carried out within AIGeo events got proportionally higher score according to the degree of direct involvement of the candidate (e.g. presentations at meeting were evaluated as more relevant than participation to working groups)
Number and quality of publications	The publications presented were evaluated based on their number, normalized relative to
	based on men number, normalized relative to





			applicant's	academic	position,	and	the
--	--	--	-------------	----------	-----------	-----	-----

After calculating the ranking for the candidates to the type A grant, the Commission verified that the winners (the two first candidates ranked with the best scores) had not been awarded with an AIGeo grant in the past 2 years.

The materials containing scores calculations for each grant type were made available to the AIGeo Directive Council for a final check. The candidates are listed in the following tables, according to the ranking order. The declared winners are highlighted in bold.

Grant scheme A

Surname	Name
Rossi	Sofia
Tursi	Maria Francesca
Burnelli	Martina
Tronti	Gianluca
Pietrogrande	Sofia
Contillo	Lucia
Del Chiaro	Michele
Longhi	Alessandro
Sannino	Annalisa
Ruscitto	Valeria
Vaccher	Valeria
Ilacqua	Silvia
Ponti	Stefano
Kushabaha	Alok (*)
Sabato	Gaetano (*)

(*) not eligible (not AIGeo member)

Grant scheme B

Surname	Name	Country
Sevil Aguareles	Jorge	Spain
Bussard	Jonathan	Switzerland
Reza	Masoom	India
Lämmle	Luca	Brazil
Tichli	Soufiane	Morocco



ASSOCIAZIONE ITALIANA DI GEOGRAFIA FISICA E GEOMORFOLOGIA ITALIAN ASSOCIATION OF PHYSICAL GEOGRAPHY AND GEOMORPHOLOGY



Ayyoub	Sbihi	Morocco
Bouhioui	Zaynab	Morocco
Samya	Lamhadri	Morocco
Mohsen	Ahmed	Egypt
Kumar	Shekhar	India